Ahh music. There’s nothing better for me when I’m cranky. Or unhappy. Or sad. Or angry. Or hurting. Or laughing. Or happy. Or driving with the windows open. Something about music can amplify or fix my mood. But if you’ve read this blog then you probably know all this. That being said, don’t discount the power of music in your life. Music can be unbelievably helpful and inspiring. Often, when I’m writing a scene it comes from a song. I’ll hear the melody and think it would be great for a montage or I’ll hear the lyrics and think it describes what my characters are going through. I don’t fully know where I’m going with this except to say let the music heal you. Also I’m going to pop a song or lyrics of the moment up here every so often…

The main song stuck in my head lately is Florence and the Machine’s Shake It Out . I personally believe that songs get stuck in my head for a reason, and I think I need to focus on shaking off and letting go of a lot of things. Maybe this will hit some of you the same way. “I’ve been a fool and I’ve been blind. I could never leave the past behind. I can see no way. I can see no way. I’m always dragging that horse around. Our love is pastured such a mournful sound. Tonight I’m gonna bury that horse in the ground. I like to keep my issues strong. It’s always darkest before the dawn.

Enjoy… maybe it’ll resonate with you. When you’re going a little crazy or you’re upset for whatever reason… give music a try. It’s more powerful than you might think.

“Every song ends, is that any reason not to enjoy the music?” -OTH
BMS-

